The online home of Women's Rugby


Spain played their first test in 1989 against France. For a time they competed in the Women’s Six Nations but this was altered so that Italy replaced them and the tournament mirrored the men’s.  Spain competed at the 1991 World Cup but missed out on 1994 due to finance problems. They won the European Championships in 1995. Spain hosted the 2002 World Cup in Barcelona, where they finished 8th. They failed to qualify for the 2010 WC but have made huge progress on the Sevens front and are a leading European side on this front.

  • Tuesday May 29th 2012

    With the final IRB Sevens World Cup looming in 2013, qualification for the best women's rugby...

    read more
  • Wednesday November 02nd 2011

    By John BirchElche in Spain was the venue for a fascinating one-day tournament warm-up...

    read more