The online home of Women's Rugby

Women's Sevens Series to be streamed

The International Rugby Board has confirmed that all rounds of the 2013/14 IRB Women's Sevens World Series will be streamed online.

The Series kicks off in Dubai on November 28 and all the action from Pitch 1 in the purpose built 7he Sevens stadium will be streamed live on

The matches will be available across the globe with full access to the stream from all regions and territories.

With less than three weeks to go until kick-off, excitement is building for the Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens, which played host to the first ever IRB Women's Sevens World Series event last year.

Defending champions New Zealand will be looking to build on a fantastic 2012/13 season, where they won both the World Series and the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013.

The road to Rio is getting shorter, and with less than three years to go to the Olympic Games in Brazil, all teams taking part in the Series will be focusing on building up their squads for the Games. The Women’s Series gives teams the rigorous and regular international competition they need to build their programmes, as they countdown towards Rugby Sevens’ Olympic debut in 2016.

"We're delighted to be able to stream the Women's Series online this year," said IRB Sevens General Manger Avan Lee.

"Running alongside the men's event, the opening round of series in Dubai is an exciting one. There are no restrictions on streaming, and it's free of charge, so everyone with internet access across the globe will be able to tune in, which helps our overall goal of growing the game and showcasing this wonderful tournament."

Twelve international sides from across six continents will compete, with New Zealand, England and Canada heading the three pools.


Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA are core teams on the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series after reaching the quarter-finals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013. The eight core teams will compete across all rounds of the Series.

IRB Women's Sevens World Series 2013/14: Dates and Venues:

First leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates - November 28-29, 2013

Second leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA - February 15-16, 2014

Third leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil - February 21-22, 2014

Fourth leg: Guangzhao University Town Stadium, Guangzhao, China - April 4-6 2014

Fifth leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - May 16-17, 2014

Sixth leg: TBC

"We're delighted to be able to stream the Women's Series online this year,"
 IRB Sevens General Manger Avan Lee.