Argentina win South American 7s

Argentina 7s won their first South American 7s title in Asunción, Paraguay. They did it undefeated.

Published by John Birch, October 3rd, 2023

2 minute read

Try Audio

Argentina win South American 7s

The Héroes de Curupayty Stadium had Argentina celebrating by winning the SAR 7s for the first time since it began to be played in 2004.

Multiple previous champions Brazil only fielded a development team, but Argentina aided by the great play of a team led by Nahuel García and Facundo Salas, deserved their title win.

Argentina scored 34 tries in six games, conceding just one try from Chile and two from the Brazilian team. Once again, the experienced Sofía González contributed her rugby, scoring seven tries and contributing eleven conversions.

Despite the title win Argentina will not participate in the next Pan American Games to be held at the beginning of November in Santiago as places were decided at the previous SAR championship, Chile, throough its third place in the Olympic Games qualidier in Montevideo this year will allow it to play in the Olympic Repechage and for a place in the World Rugby Challenger Series..

Brazil ended runners up, despite fielding several newcomers , prefering to concentrate on the Pan American Championship at the Pintana Stadium and preparations for the World Series, Chile - Las Cóndores - finished in third place,.Paraguay, was fourth due to points difference with Chile, and Colombia fifth.


Chile 10-0 Peru; Argentina 38-0 Colombia; Chile 10-0 Peru; Brazil 31-0 Colombia; Peru 0-28 Paraguay; Chile 36-0 Uruguay; Brazil 24-12 Paraguay; Argentina 41-0 Uruguay; Colombia 17-12 Chile; Uruguay 5-14 Peru; Paraguay 27-0 Argentina; Brazil 24-5 Peru; Uruguay 0-27 Colombia; Argentina 25-7 Chile; Colombia 29-5 Peru; Paraguay 12-14 Chile; Brazil 22-12 Chile; Argentina 50-0 Peru; Uruguay 7-36 Paraguay; Brazil 12-20 Argentina; Paraguay 12-10 Colombia