The online home of Women's Rugby

Australia targeting next gold medals

Australia are first out the blocks in preparations for the Commonwealth Youth Games.

Gold medalists at the Youth Olympics in 2014, the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2015 and – of course – the Olympic Games last year, Australia have shown their determination to continue their winning streak by being the first to announce reveal their squad and preparations for this year’s Commonwealth Youth Games in Nassau, in the Bahamas.

Participation in team sports at the Commonwealth Youth Games is by invitation. Member of the Commonwealth Games Federation put in applications, and the Federation selects teams in partnership with each respective International Federation in a bid to ensure depth of field, regional representation, gender equality and taking into account available results and rankings.

In rugby, teams have been selected based on region, with nations entered for the men’s or women’s competitions, but not both. In December, it was announced that the teams selected for the women’s sevens in Nassau would be Australia, Canada, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago and Wales.

Australia clearly see these youth tournaments as a key part of the success of overall squad. “Previous Youth Games tournament graduates include Gold medallists Charlotte Caslick and Evania Pelite, and half of the current squad progressed through this pathway, “said Tom Walsh when the 2017 training squad was announced this week.”

"This is a great opportunity for aspiring young women to develop and enhance their abilities as Rugby Sevens players and push for selection in the Commonwealth Youth Games. To see the young talent coming through the Rugby Sevens pathway and with the Aon National University Sevens Series launching this year, this really is an inspiring time for Women’s Rugby Sevens players and supporters in Australia.

“We will be observing and challenging all the squad members in their upcoming training camps and want them to enjoy the experience of this wonderful game.”

The squad will have three training camps, before a final squad of 12 will be selected to head to the Caribbean to represent Australia in from July 19-23.

Squad: Georgia Hannaway (State: QLD, DOB: 28/12/00); Lily Dick (State: QLD, DOB: 26/12/99); Alysia Lefau–Fakosilea (State: QLD, DOB: 5/11/00); Meg Gemmell (State: QLD, DOB: 18/6/99); Kobe Nona (State: QLD, DOB: 18/2/99); Terri Anne Egan (State: QLD, DOB: 28/4/00); Ngaupoko Sabine Marsters (State: QLD, DOB: 10/11/00); Rebecca Goulding (State: QLD, DOB: 30/03/99); Veteronnica Tafito (State: QLD, DOB: 10/02/00); Hannah Southwell (State: NSW, DOB: 4/3/99); Page McGregor (State: NSW, DOB: 11/3/99); Brydie Parker (State: NSW, DOB: 25/10/99); Abby Holmes (State: NSW, DOB: 14/10/00); Arabella McKenzie (State: NSW, DOB: 1/03/99); Rikeya Horne (State: NSW, DOB: 14/9/99); Sariah Paki (State: NSW, DOB: 12/10/01); Jakiya Whitfeld (State: NSW, DOB: 11/06/01); Emma Bradford (State: NSW, DOB: 29/01/01); Mia Woods (State: NSW, DOB: 16/02/99); Layne Morgan (State: NSW, DOB: 20/04/99); Maddison Ashby (State: NSW, DOB: 22/01/01); Courtney Hodder (State: WA, DOB:08/07/00); Kennedy Cherrington (State: WA, DOB: 05/01/99); Turiti Galiki (State: WA, DOB: 06/01/00); Langley  Sasaga (State: WA, DOB: 09/04/00); Lily Rose-Bennett (State: ACT, DOB: 10/08/00); Sophie Quirk (State: ACT, DOB: 22/09/99); Piper Duck (State: ACT, DOB: 02/04/01); Rhiannon Revell-Blair (National Indigenous Team, DOB: 23/03/01); Latoniya Norris (State: NT, DOB: 18/03/01); Leah Phillips (State: SA, DOB: 11/11/99)