The online home of Women's Rugby

China crowned Asian Champs

The Chinese women's rugby 7s side were crowned Asian Champions over the weekend defeating Kazakhstan 31-12 in the final avenging their defeat at the Asian Games last year.

Twelve of Asia's top teams competed at the event.

In the final, Gao Yan was a standout player for China, as her side established a 15-0 lead at half time.

Kazakhstan attempted a determined comeback with a try from Olga Kim and Sretlana Klyuchnikora, but full back Wang Qian Li sealed the game with solitary run from the left flank for China.

China, who remained undefeated in the championship, kicked off their knockout round campaign with a 41-0 win over hosts India. Gao Yan scored a hat-trick for her team while Yao Ji Yan and Yang Hong scored a try each.

India, meanwhile failed to register a win on the second day. After being outclassed by China, the hosts were handed a 34-0 hammering by Hong Kong in the plate semifinal. In the seventh place playoff, India led by Pune girl Surabhi Date lost 5-29 against Singapore.

Japan beat Thailand 17-7 in a third place playoff thriller, while Hong Kong emerged as the Plate winners after a win over Chinese Taipei.


1-2 Place: China 31 Kazakhstan 12
3-4 Place: Japan 17 Thailand 75-6 Place: Hong Kong 24 Chinese Taipei 10;
7-8 Place: India 5 Singapore 29;
9-10 Place: Iran 7 South Korea 5;
11-12 Place: Malaysia 0 Lao 7.

Semi Final: China 26 Japan 0; Kazakhstan 21 Thailand 12

Plate Semi Final: India 0 Hong Kong 34; Chinese Taipei 21 bt Singapore 0

Bowl Semifinal: Iran 12 Malaysia 0; South Korea 17 Laos 12

Quarterfinal: China 41 India 0; Japan 17 Hong Kong 5; Kazakhstan 29 Taipei 0; Thailand 24 Singapore 0


1. China; 2 Kazakhstan; 3 Japan; 4 Thailand; 5 Hong Kong; 6 Chinese Taipei; 7 Singapore; 8 India; 9 Iran; 10 South Korea; 11 Lao; 12 Malaysia