The online home of Women's Rugby

Debut women's event for India

India is this weekend hosting its first ever international women's rugby tournament when the Asian Women's Rugby 7s Championship kicks off at the Balewadi Sports Complex.

Twelve teams from across Asia in the running for the Cup, including Kazakhstan, winners of Asian Games 2010, and runners-up China.

The league-cum-knockout tournament is the only ranking women's 7s event in Asia.

Apart from Kazakhstan and China, Japan, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Korea, Lao, Chinese Taipei, Iran and hosts India will be seen in action.

India has been drawn in Pool B alongside Kazakhstan, Hong Kong and Korea. Pool A consists of teams from China, Singapore, Malaysia and Iran while Pool C comprises of Thailand, Japan, Taipei and Lao.