The online home of Women's Rugby

Draw for 7s World Cup announced

The draw for the Sevens World Cup in Cape Town has been announced.

The Sevens World Cup in Cape Town will take place over three days between 9th and 11th September.

As with the previous tournament, it will be a straight knockout tournament, with a “Challenge” tournament for first round losers and classification matches.

The first day will feature all of the first round games, which will open the afternoon session (apart from matches 2 and 3, which will be played in the evening). The draw is:

1: Australia v Madagascar
2: New Zealand v Colombia
3: France v South Africa
4: United States v Poland
5: Canada v China
6: Fiji v Japan
7: Ireland v Brazil
8: England v Spain

Quarter-finals and Semi-Finals of the “Challenge” (for teams losing their first round games) will be played on Day 2 in the morning and afternoon, with the “Championship” quarter-finals following in the evening.

In both the Challenge and Championship, the draw will be:

Winner/Loser 1 v Winner/Loser 8            
Winner/Loser 2 v Winner/Loser 7
Winner/Loser 3 v Winner/Loser 6:
Winner/Loser 4 v Winner/Loser 5

For draw for the semi-finals will see the winner of the first game play the winner of the fourth, and the winner of the second play the winner of the third.

The Championship Semi-finals (and Cup” semi-finals for losing quarter-finalists) will be played in the morning of the third day, with classification games starting in the afternoon leading to a final due to take place at 18:17 GMT (19:17 BST).

More information about precise match timings can be found on the World Cup website.