The online home of Women's Rugby

Draw for Lisbon repecharge announced

The draw for the tournament that will decide which European teams will join Russia in the Olympic Repecharge next June has been announced.

The field where Olympic dreams will come to an end for nine European teams

The tournament will be played on 18th and 19th July in Lisbon, alongside the parallel men’s tournament. Seven teams from European Women’s Grand Prix (Spain, Ireland, Netherlands, Portugal, Ukraine, Italy and Germany) will be joined in Lisbon by four from Division A (Belgium, Finland, Sweden and Romania) and Division B champions, Denmark. The top three will qualify for the final Olympic Repecharge in June 2016 where they, plus Russia and eight other teams from around the world, will battle for just one place in Rio.

Seedings for Lisbon have been based on the final rankings in this year’s European Sevens.

The draw is:

Pool A: Spain, Portugal, Germany, Denmark

Pool B: Ireland, Ukraine, Belgium, Romania

Pool C: Netherlands, Italy, Finland, Sweden

The full match schedule can be found on the Rugby Europe website.