The online home of Women's Rugby

England beat Scotland at U18s

England beat Scotland in an U18 game in Tynecastle on 19th February

Report from RFU

James Cooper’s squad welcomed Scotland to the North East venue for a key development opportunity.

The 23-player group were selected to train and then play against their Scottish counterparts as part of the commitment to giving the players the best possible pathway to develop and compete at the highest level.

Niamh Swailes captained the side while fellow North East and Cumbria representative Lucy Thorpe, Cumbria’s Naomi Brennan and Yorkshire trio Erin Bradley, Bridget Campbell and Evie Addy also featured. There was also strong representation from across the Allianz Premier 15s.

"We had a brilliant two days up at Tynedale," said Cooper. "The players were great and there were lots of important learnings from the training sessions and match.

"The match environment gave us the opportunity to work to matchday protocols and processes which is an important learning. We know where we can improve and we’ll be looking to do so in our next camp in Birmingham next month.

"On behalf of all our staff and players, I’d like to thank the club for their hospitality. They were brilliant hosts, the facilities are excellent, we were made to feel so welcome and they couldn’t do anymore for us."

Cooper’s squad are back in camp next month where they will train at the University of Birmingham (18-20 March).

What’s more, Burton RFC will host the National Centre of Excellence festival on 12 March in what will be the first event where all 11 centre of excellences will feature. 


15. Evie Walker (Exeter Chiefs)
14. Katie Shillaker (Harlequins)
13. Erin Bradley (Yorkshire)
12. Katie Johnson (Saracens)
11. Daisy Aspinall (Loughborough)
10. Daisy Womak (Exeter Chiefs)
9. Alex Wilkinson (Wasps)

1. Hannah Sams (Exeter)
2. Niamh Swailes (North East and Cumbria)
3. Kira Leat (Gloucester-Hartpury)
4. Bridget Campbell (Yorkshire)
5. Tess White (Gloucester-Hartpury)
6. Bo Osborn-Clarke (Bristol Bears)
7. Sophie McQueen (Gloucester-Hartpury)
8. Lilly Plowman (Exeter Chiefs)

16. Olivia Constable (Gloucester-Harpury)
17. Evie Addy (Yorkshire)
18. Amelia Clarke (Bristol Bears)
19. Josie Plant (Exeter Chiefs)
20. Lucy Thorpe (North East and Cumbria)
21. Tillie Westwood (Bristol Bears)
22. Naomi Brennan (Gloucester-Hartpury)
23. Lucy Weaver (Loughborough Lightning)