The online home of Women's Rugby

Farah Palmer semi lineup decided

The semi-finals of both the Farah Palmer Cup Premiership and Championship were decided this weekend

In the Premiership the final round of games in the pool stage Canterbury confirmed their position at the top of the table, with a perfect 100% record – six bonus-point wins against all-comers. This weekend they toon on Bay of Plenty, who still had an outside chance of a semi-final spot. After a tight first 40 minutes, which ended just 14-7 to Canterbury, the hosts over-ran their opponents with four unanswered tries to win 40-7.

Canterbury will host Counties Manukau in the semi-finals, the 2017 champions beating Waikato in a competitive fixture by 28-19.

Auckland had the weekend off and will host Wellington in the other semi-finals next weekend after Wellington came from behind to beat Manawatu, overturning a 26-7 halftime deficit with a dominant second half display to win 26-42. Manawatu had benefited from the amount of pressure it was able to apply during the first half, two Wellington kicks being charged, allowed two of Manawatu's four tries to be scored.

In the Championship Otago will host Tasman while Hawke's Bay will play Northland in the second-tier semi-finals after the bottom four teams in the Championship played-off for the final two semi-finals spots.

Tasman secured their semi-final place by overturned North Harbour 25-19 in Albany, despite finishing behind them in the regular season.

Northland, in the first Farah Palmer season, were too strong for Taranaki

Mitre 10 Farah Palmer Cup results


Counties Manukau 28 (Waikohika Flesher, Leilani Perese, Shyanne Thompson, Hazel Tubic, Langi Veainu tries; Tubic pen) Waikato 19 (Awhina Tangen-Wainou, Kennedy Simon, Calista Ruruku tries; Renee Holmes 2 con).

Manawatu 26 (Selica Winiata, Janna Vaughan, Rangimarie Sturmey, Crystal Mayes tries; Winiata 3 con) Wellington 42 (Ayesha Leti-Kiga 5, Bernadette Robertson tries; Amanda Rasch 6 con). HT: 26-7

Canterbury 40 (Kendra Cocksedge , Alana Bremner, Stephanie Te Arawa-Fox 2, Lucy Anderson, Sam Curtis tries; Cocksedge 5 con) Bay of Plenty 7 (Tyneall Fitzgerald try; Sapphire Tapsell con). HT: 14-7

Championship quarterfinal

North Harbour 19 (Simone Small 2, Olivia Ward-Duin tries; Small 2 con) Tasman 25 (Scorers not provided).

Northland 32 (Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate 4, Vic Subritzky-Nafatal tries; Krystal Murray 2 con, pen) Taranaki 14 (Iritana Hohaia, Chelsea Fowler tries; Fowler 2 con). HT: 19-7