The online home of Women's Rugby

France reveal their World Cup challengers

The hosts of this summer's Women's Rugby World Cup have annonced their 26-player squad.

There are no surprises in the list, which has been narrowed down from some 32 players who have attended training camps in recent weeks - perhaps the only name from the trialists whose absence is notable would be centre Lucielle Godiveau, who just misses the cut, probably just losing out to Shannon Izar.

The squad is essentially that which won the Grand Slam, but boosted with the inclusion of several of the French sevens team who recently finished runners-up in the European Championship.

This will mean an interesting battle for the No 15 shirt between Caroline Ladagnous and Jessy Tremouliere, while Jennifer Troncy will probably shave the No 9 position from Yanna Rivoalen. The experience of Christelle Le Duff,  fresh from her superb performance in Brive, is also now available at 10, perhaps allowing Sandrine Agricole to move back to her perferred position in the centre with the possiblity of the ever-burgeoning talent of Marjorie Mayans playing alongside her, having switched back to 15s after a great 7s series.

Also up front the Montpellier pack will be unleashed again, bolstered by the likes of Hélène Ezanno and Manon Andre.

Gaëlle Mignot will almost certanly lead the team again, which means that the squad's other hooker and most experienced player, Laetitia Salles (who is now within touching distance of being France's most capped player), may be spending some time on the bench.

The squad in full:

Sandrine Agricole (Rennes) (Fly Half); Manon Andre (Saint Orens) (Back Row); Lise Arricastre (Lons) (Prop); Christelle Chobet (Lons) (Prop); Marine Denadaï (Montpellier) (Second Row); Coumba Diallo (Bobigny) (Back Row); Koumiba Djossouvi (Montpellier) (Back Row); Hélène Ezanno (Lille) (Prop); Laetitia Grand (Lons) (Back Row); Camille Grassineau (Bordeaux) (Wing); Elodie Guiglion (Perpignan) (Wing); Shanon Izar (Lille) (Centre); Assa Koita (Bobigny) (Second Row)); Caroline Ladagnous (Lons) (Full-Back); Christelle Leduff (Perpignan) (Fly Half); Marion Lievre (Bobigny) (Wing); Marjorie Mayans (Saint Orens) (Centre); Gaëlle Mignot (Montpellier) (Hooker); Safi N'diaye (Montpellier) (Back Row)); Elodie Portaries (Montpellier) (Prop); Elodie Poublan (Montpellier) (Centre); Sandra Rabier (Caen) (Second Row); Yanna Rivoalen (Lille) (Scrum-Half); Laetitia Salles (La Valette) (Hooker); Jessy Tremouliere (Romagnat) (Full-Back); Jennifer Troncy (Montpellier) (Scrum-Half)