The online home of Women's Rugby

Madagascar win first Indian Ocean Games gold

The Indian Ocean Island Games take place every four years, but this year’s Games in Antananarivo were the first to include rugby sevens.

The Indian Ocean Island Games gather together teams from the island nations and territories of across the region, including Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros, Madagascar, Mayotte, Réunion and the Maldives.

This year’s Games, in Antananarivo in Madagascar, are the largest so far and included rugby sevens for the first time.

The Games replace a separate Indian Ocean Tournament, which had been played annually from 2017 to 2019, Madagascar winning on each occasion.

It was not unexpected, therefore, that the Makis won gold this weekend – and without conceding a point.

The French territories of Reunion and Mayotte took silver and bronze


Pool: Madagascar 33-0 Mayotte; Mauritius 14-40 Reunion; Madagascar 43-0 Mauritius; Reunion 26-0 Mayotte; Madagascar 31-0 Reunion; Mauritius 12-14 Mayotte

Semi-Finals Madagascar 52-0 Mauritius; Reunion 12-7 Mayotte

Bronze final: Mauritius 5-20 Mayotte

Gold final: Reunion 0-26 Madagascar