The online home of Women's Rugby

Olympic qualification tournaments

The dates and venues for the regional Olympic qualification tournaments have been announced.

We summaried the complexities of the Olympic qualification process back in February. Brazil have already qualified, and four more teams will also book a place in Rio from the World Series. Today World Rugby confirmed the dates and venues for the six regional tournaments from which a further six teams will qualify for the Games.

It was also announced that the tournament to decide the 12th and final qualifer will be held in June 2016 at a venue to be announced at the end of this year.

AfricaFinal qualifierSeptember 26th/27thJohannesburgWon by South Africa
AsiaPre-qualiferMarch 7th/8thChennai, IndiaWon by Uzbekistan
 Final qualifier: 1st legNovember 7th/8thHong Kong 
 Final qualifier: 2nd legNovember 28th/29thTokyo, JapanWon by japam
South AmericaFinal qualfierJune 5th-7thSanta Fe, ArgentinaWon by Colombia
EuropeFinal qualifier: 1st legJune 13th/14thKazan, Russia 
 Final qualifier: 2nd legJune 20th/21stBrive, FranceWon by France
 Repecharge qualifierJuly 18th/19thLisbon, Portugal 
OceaniaFinal qualifierNovember 14th/15thAuckland, New ZealandWon by Fiji
North America & CaribbeanFinal qualifierJune 13th/14thCary, North CarolinaWon by USA
World RepechargeFinal qualifierJune 2016Venue TBA (June 2016) 

Teams that have so far qualified for the World Repecharge are: Argentina, Ireland, Russia, Spain and Venezuela.