The online home of Women's Rugby

Olympic qualifier tournaments announced

Details about the six regional Tokyo Olympic qualifiers have been announced.Details about the six regional Tokyo Olympic qualifiers have been announced.

Japan – as hosts – plus the top four teams from this season’s World Series will automatically qualify for the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo.

The next five qualifiers will be decided at regional events, the dates and venues of most of which have been announced:

South America: 1-2 June, 2019 - Lima, Peru
Europea: 13-14 July, 2019 - Kazan, Russia
Oceania: 7-9 November, 2019 – Suva, Fiji
Asia: 9-10 November, 2019 – Guangzhou, China
Africa: To be confirmed, but will be played in 2019.

There will also be a North American qualifier on 6-7 July, 2019 in George Town, in the Cayman Islands, but as we revealed in February if the United States and Canada both qualify via the World Series (which seems very likely) the winner will not go straight to Tokyo. Instead the finalists will join the teams finishing second and third in each of the five other qualifiers in a final Olympic Games Repechage tournament, which will take place in first half of 2020.

The finalists at the Repecharge will then fill the final two places in Tokyo.

The Games start on 24th July with the women’s sevens being played in the first week, after the men’s tournament, between 30th July and 1st August.