The online home of Women's Rugby

Pools set for China

The pools and match schedule for the third round of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series, in China on 30-31 March 2013, have been announced.

Twelve international sides from six continents will compete at the Guangzhou University Town Stadium, with tournament hosts China facing both Cup finalists from round two in Houston - winners England and runners-up USA - in pool play, as well as Oceania qualifiers, Fiji.
The landmark event for Rugby in China gives the host nation a second outing this season and hands Series debuts to the Fijians, Ireland and Tunisia, all of whom have also qualified to compete at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow on 28-30 June.

Pool A: New Zealand, Netherlands,  Brazil, Tunisia
Pool B: Australia, Canada, Japan, Ireland
Pool C: England, USA, China Fiji

Having won the opening round of the Series in Dubai, and finished fourth in Houston, New Zealand's women lead the Series at the halfway stage.
Aside from the kiwis, Australia are the only side to have reached both semi-final rounds this season and they head Pool B, which also features seventh-ranked Canada, Japan and Ireland.

After victory at round two in the USA, England's women currently lie third in the standings and they head the third and final pool featuring the hosts China, USA and Fiji.

New Zealand currently lead the standings on 34 points with a slender lead from Australia (30) and England (28), and only 10 clear of two surprise packages, Russia and South Africa (24).