The online home of Women's Rugby

South Africa crowned champs of CAR 7s

South Africa finished top of the pile at this weekends CAR womens 7s.

The competition served as a qualifier for the 2012 Africa 7s Championship with the top four teams going through to that event, which will in turn determine the teams that qualify for the 2013 World Cup.

The other three teams to qualify from the tournament were Uganda (pictured above), Kenya and Zimbabwe.

That South Africa and Uganda, contested the final on Sunday, was no real surprise as those two teams have dominated the competition, finishing winners and runners up between 2006 and 2008. The tournament was not held in 2009 and 2010.

The tournament, held in Botswana, pitted South Africa against Zambia, Zimbabwe and Rwanda in Pool A while Pool B had Uganda, Kenya, Botswana and Madagascar.

South Africa went unbeaten throughout the entire tournament while Uganda made it all the way to the final without a loss.

The top four will now join the top four from the northern qualifier (Senegal, Burkina Faso, Tunisia and Morocco) for a tournament in Morocco next September.


Zambia 0 South Africa 34

Zimbabwe 40 Rwanda 0

Uganda 17 Kenya 5

Botswana 0 Madagascar 14

Zimbabwe 5 South Africa 37

Zambia 20 Rwanda 0

Kenya 29 Madagascar 10

Uganda 17 Botswana 7

Zambia 12 Zimbabwe 19

Rwanda 0 South Africa 51

Uganda 17 Madagascar 0

Kenya 31 Botswana 0


Zambia 19 Botswana 5

Madagascar 36 Rwanda 0

South Africa 14 Kenya 5

Uganda 7 Zimbabwe 0

Botswana 24 Rwanda 0

Zambia 15 Madagascar 14

Kenya 17 Zimbabwe 0

Cup Final

South Africa 42 Uganda 5


1. South Africa

2. Uganda

3. Kenya

4. Zimbabwe

5. Zambia

6. Madagascar

7. Botswana

8. Rwanda