The online home of Women's Rugby

USA South win first RAN 12s

The USA South team has won the RAN Women’s 12s.

The Caribbean was the home of one of the first regional test championships. Running from 2003 to 2011, the tournament eventually ended under the joint pressure of the rise of sevens, and the cost of travel.

As a result the Caribbean region remains the only area not represented in World Cup qualifying.

Rugby Americans North launched a women’s 10s tournament a few years ago as the first step to recreating the test championship, and this year it was expended to be a 12s tournament.

The tournament ran alongside a men’s U19 competition in Kingston, Jamaica.

A “USA South” team was joined by teams from five Caribbean island nations. Mexico – winners of the 10s in 2019 – did not take part this year.

Hosts Jamaica – 10s runners up in 2018 and 2019 – reached the final again, winning their pool on Friday despite a strong showing from Trinidad. Then on Saturday morning they beat St Lucia to reach the final.

USA South – 10s winners in 2018 – just edged St Lucia to win Pool B, and beat Trinidad on Saturday morning to set up a repeat of the 2018 10s final.

Unfortunately for Jamaica, as in 2018, it was USA South who edged a close and exciting final, this time by just 17-14, leaving Jamaica as runners-up for the third time.


Pool A : Jamaica 10-5 Trinidad & Tobago ; Trinidad & Tobago 7-0 Dominican Republic ; Jamaica 45-0 Dominican Republic
Pool B : USA South 8-5 St.Lucia ; USA South 29-0 Cayman Islands ; St.Lucia 19-8 Cayman Islands
Semi-finals : Jamaica 43-0 St.Lucia ; USA South 20-5 Trinidad & Tobago
Thirds of pool game : Cayman Islands 7-5 Dominican Republic
Ranking games
5th place : Dominican Republic 15-10 St.Lucia
3rd place : Trinidad & Tobago 25-12 Cayman Islands
Final : USA South 17-14 Jamaica