The online home of Women's Rugby

Wales win first game against Crawshaw's

Wales warmed up for next week's game against the Barbarians with a 29-8 victory against invitational side Crawshays at Ebbw Vale

Report: BBC/ Picture: WRU/Ebbw Rugby

Tries from Kayleigh Powell, Paige Randall, Caitin Lewis, Courtney Keight and Molly Kelly and two conversions from Robyn Wilkins sealed the win. Crawshays responded with a Dyddgu Hywel try and Ellie Green drop-goal.

Number eight Siwan Lillicrap retained the Welsh captaincy after leading wins in Ireland and Scotland so far this autumn. Kelly was preferred at hooker ahead of regular skipper Carys Phillips who also played no part last week. Phillips, who won her 50th cap in the opening game in Spain, was again omitted from the match-day squad.

Carys' father Rowland was again not in charge as he continues taking time away from his head coach role with Geraint Lewis, Chris Horsman and Gareth Wyatt jointly guiding the side.

The match was also the first time Crawshays had fielded a women's team and were coached by former Wales captains Liza Burgess and Rachel Taylor.

Wales finish their autumn schedule against the Barbarians on 30 November at Cardiff's Principality Stadium in a double-header with the men's team.

Wales: Paige Randall (Cardiff Blues); Lisa Neumann (RGC), Courtney Keight (Ospreys), Kayleigh Powell (Ospreys), Caitlin Lewis (Scarlets); Robyn Wilkins (Cardiff Blues), Keira Bevan (Ospreys); Gwenllian Pyrs (RGC), Molly Kelly (RGC), Cerys Hale (Cardiff Blues), Natalia John (Ospreys), Abbie Fleming (Cardiff Blues), Georgia Evans (Cardiff Blues), Robyn Lock (Ospreys), Siwan Lillicrap (capt, Ospreys).
Replacements: Kelsey Jones (Ospreys), Gwenllian Jenkins (Scarlets), Sarah Lawrence (Scarlets), Alex Callender (Scarlets), Gwen Crabb (Ospreys), Ffion Lewis (Scarlets), Lauren Smyth (Ospreys), Angharad de Smet (Scarlets).

Crawshays: Dyddgu Hywel (Gloucester-Hartpury), Catherine Richards (Llandaff North), Chantelle Miell (Saracens), Jodie Evans (Swansea), Ellie Green (Harlequins), Jade Knight (Saracens); Meg York (Ynysddu), Emily Tuttosi (Loughborough Lightning), Katryn Buggy (Gloucester Hartpury), Beth Stafford (Waterloo), Emily Maisey (Wasps), Poppy Leitch (Bristol), Catrina Bowen (Burry Port), Shona Powell-Hughes (Gloucester-Hartpury).
Replacements: Gill Bourke (Harlequins), Kim Jones (Pontyclun Falcons), Brea Leung (Waterloo), Sian Williams (Gloucester-Hartpury), Kay Searcy (Richmond), Rhi Parker (Bristol), Lleucu George (Whitland), Rosie Mankee (Swansea).