The online home of Women's Rugby

Welsh young guns end season on a high

The Wales U20 women's rugby team finished their season on a high with a 12-7 victory over their English counterparts. After losing to the same opposition a few weeks ago the Welsh girls were determined to win on home soil and the two-try victory will be a boost to the women's game in Wales which has had a tough season.

In Surrey last month the game between the same sides went England's way as they won out 17-7 but this time Wales made no mistake and scored two good tries to make sure of the win.

Wales came out firing and scored early after putting the English under pressure in their own 22. A poor clearing kick fell to skipper Adi Taviner and her offload to wing Charlotte Murray brought the first try as Murray charged her way through a number of tackles.

England then lost talented backrow Hannah Field through injury and Wales took advantage exerting more pressure. From a scrum before halftime No.8 Vicky Owens barged her way over the try line and the conversion gave Wales a 12-0 lead.

England were fired up after the restart and got back into the game when they won a turnover in the Wales 22 and Richmond full back Kay Wilson made no mistake in collecting and charging over to score in the left corner. Bristol centre Amber Reed added the conversion to make the score 12-7.

The result will be a boost to the game in Wales after a year where the national team finished bottom of the 6 Nations table.

England U20s

15 Kay Wilson (Richmond), 14 Rebecca Hughes (Bristol), 13 Amy Wilson Hardy (Hove), 12 Amber Reed (Bristol), 11 Sophie Watkiss (Worcester), 10 Emily Scott (Welwyn), 9 Fiona Davidson (Richmond), 1 Sasha Acheson (Shelford), 2 Vicky Fleetwood (Lichfield), 3 Charlotte Male (C) (Bristol), 4 Amy Millar (Worcester), 5 Stacey Maguire (Lichfield), 6 Poppy Cleall (Ellingham and Ringwood), 7 Hannah Field (Wasps), 8 Nicola Hoole (Bristol).

Replacements: Packer for Field (18), Thomas for Millar (39), George for Acheson, Flowers for Davidson (both 60), Gallagher for Wilson Hardy (78), Mackinder for Watkiss (78).


15 Kerin Lake (Neath Athletic), 14 Sian Perry (Altrincham Kersal), 13 Charlotte Murray (Neath Athletic), 12 Adi Taviner (C) (Neath Athletic), 11Jess Kavanagh (Dolgellau), 10 Bethan Preece (Neath Athletic), 9 Yasmin Leung (UWIC), 1 Alex Stokes (Neath Athletic), 2 Amy Lawrence (Neath Athletic), 3 Lowri Harris (UWIC), 4 Chloe Howells (Whitland), 5 Shona Powell-Hughes (Neath Athletic), 6 Sian Williams (RAF), 8 Vicky Owens (UWIC), 7 Sioned Harris (UWIC).

Referee: Sean Brickell

Assistant Referees: Gareth Saunders & David Swain