The online home of Women's Rugby

European Championships

  • Established : 1988
  • Wiki page : View page
  • Number of teams : 20
  • Website : View page
  • :

FIRA's Women's European Championship (or - as it is also known - the European Nations Cup and the European Trophy) is an international competition contested between women's national teams who are members of  FIRA.  The competition has its origins in a four nation "European Cup" held in 1988 but did not become an official FIRA competition until 1995. The competition has grown significantly and is some years attracts sufficient entrants for it to be divided into two "Pools" (A and B) with the eight highest ranked entrants in any year (based on FIRA rankings) in Pool A.