The online home of Women's Rugby


The Wallaroos have competed at all World Cups since 1998.  Australian women have been playing rugby since the late 1930s, in regional areas of New South Wales. In 1992 the first National Women's Tournament as held in Newcastle, NSW. The following year the Australian Women's Rugby Union was established, and it was declared that the national women's team would be called the Wallaroos. The Wallaroos played their first international in 1994, against New Zealand in Sydney. The team placed fifth at their first world cup appearance in 1998 in Holland they placed fifth at the 2002 event in Spain. In March 2009 the Wallaroos won the inaugural Women's Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament, beating New Zealand 15 - 10. A major focus is now on the Sevens game and they are the reigning Olympic champions.