The online home of Women's Rugby

Asia WC qualifiers draw close

The Asian Women's World Cup Qualifier will see at least 15 teams battle it out for a spot at next summer's event with the top three sides qualifying.

The tournament will be held in Pune India on the weekend of October 6 and 7. Among the participants are women's side from the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Sri Lanka, competing for the first time.

The countries that have confirmed their participation are defnding champions China, Kazakhstan, Hong Kong, Philippines, Chinese Taipei, Japan, UAE, Malaysia, Thailand, Korea, Fiji, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Iran and hosts India.

"We are happy to announce that women`s rugby is back in Pune, a city that loves following the sport. I hope the student population makes their presence felt,"Indian Rugby and Football Union (IRFU) President Pramod Khanna said.

The teams will be divided into three pools of four teams each with top two finishers after the league playing for Cup/Plate competition, while the bottom two will compete in Bowl/Shield event.