Ferns Cape Town win levels series

New Zealand gained revenge for their defeat in Dubai after sweeping to victory against Australia in the final in Cape Town.

Published by John Birch, December 11th, 2022

4 minute read

Try Audio

Ferns Cape Town win levels series

The tournament was played over three days, as is likely to be the pattern for all upcoming “double-headers” with men’s tournaments.

The opening day saw two rounds of pool games, Australia scoring 90 points and conceding none, while New Zealand conceded scores in both of their opening fixtures – but nonetheless won comfortably. Ireland, Fiji and USA also ended day one unbeaten.

The second day opened with the final round of pool games. Australia continued their great form, beating Ireland 29-0 – and the went on to shut out Great Britain in the quarter-final, putting them into the last four without conceding a point.

New Zealand, on the other hand, had to win a tight game against Fiji to win Pool B, but went on to hammer Canada 50-5 in their quarter.

Pool C was far close, being eventually won by France after they had drawn their opening game with Canada, after they beat USA in their final game. USA finished runner-up, with Canada ending as the best third placed team.

However, French luck did not continue into the quarters as they were edged by Ireland 12-10, France scoring a try from the final play from Alycia Chrystiaens, but could not convert to level the scores. USA, on the other hand, beat Fiji 10-7 to make the final four.

On to the third day, and New Zealand again just did enough to beat Ireland, leading 14-0 at half-time, and holding on after Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe had pulled Ireland back to within a score with two minutes to go. Australia, on the other hand, scored five tries – including a Maddison Levi hat-trick – to see off the challenge of the United States 33-12.

On this form Australia seemed hot favourites, but now in the pouring rain New Zealand swept to  21-0 lead at the break, and extended that to 26-0 before Australia were finally on the board, eventually winning 31-14.


Pool A: Ireland 33-12 Spain; Australia 52-0 South Africa; Ireland 24-0 South Africa; Australia 38-0 Spain; Spain 17-14 South Africa; Australia 29-0 Ireland

Pool B: Fiji 19-10 Great Britain; New Zealand 31-7 Brazil; Fiji 31-10 Brazil; New Zealand 19-7 Great Britain; Great Britain 29-5 Brazil; New Zealand 26-21 Fiji

Pool C: France 19-19 Canada; United States 19-14 Japan; France 26-12 Japan; United States 24-7 Canada; Canada 21-12 Japan; United States 8-31 France

Quarter-Final: New Zealand 50-5 Canada; France 10-12 Ireland; Fiji 7-10 United States; Australia 38-0 Great Britain

9th-12th Place Semi-Finals: Japan 12-17 Brazil; Spain 17-12 South Africa

5th-8th Place Semi Finals: Canada 14-19 France; Fiji 14-19 Great Britain

Semi-Finals: New Zealand 14-7 Ireland; United States 12-33 Australia

11th Place: Japan 15-5 South Africa

9th Place: Brazil 17-5 Spain

7th Place: Canada 12-26 Fiji

5th Place: France 36-28 Great Britain

3rd Place: Ireland 12-20 United States

Final: New Zealand 31-14 Australia