The online home of Women's Rugby

Sevens Challenger series announced

Details of the World Rugby’s HSBC Sevens Challenger 2024 – the new second tier below the World Series - have been announced.

South Africa were Challenge Series winners in 2022.

The new Challenger Series will consist of three rounds taking place over three continents between January and May with the top four teams set to qualifying for a new high-stakes promotion and relegation competition that will be part of the World Series Grand Final in Madrid.

The three 12-team competitions replicate the standard World Series and Olympic Games format. The 2024 edition will run from January to May and with double-header tournaments with the men at Dubai and Montevideo before a standalone final tournament in Poland:

* Dubai, UAE – 12-14 January
* Montevideo, Uruguay – 8-10 March, 2024
* Krakow, Poland - 18-19 May, 2024

The 12 teams that will take part qualified from their regional sevens tournaments played:

* Europe: Poland, Belgium and Czechia
* South America: Argentina and Paraguay
* Africa: Kenya and Uganda
* North America: Mexico
* Asia: China, Hong Kong and Thailand
* Oceania: Papua New Guinea

The top four placed teams, based on cumulative series points at the conclusion of the third round, will secure their opportunity to compete against the teams ranked ninth to 12th from HSBC SVNS 2024 at the SVNS Grand Final in Madrid on 31 May - 2 June, 2024.

The leading four teams in this Grand Final play-off will secure their place in HSBC SVNS 2025.

HSBC has been confirmed as title partner of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Challenger.

The team of match officials has also been announced: Tiana Anderson (NZR); Ella Goldsmith (RA); Melissa Leboeuf (FRR); Sunny Lee (HKCR); Nerea Livoni (UAR); Kristine Lovatt (RC); Zoe Naude (SARU); Precious Pazani (ZRU); Chloe Sampson (NZR); Giana Viljoen (SARU); Holly Wood (RFU)