Canada U23s win first “Border Battle”

Canada’s U23s opened the two-match “Border Battle” against the USA with a win at Veterans Memorial Stadium in Quincy, Massachusetts, on Wednesday evening.

Published by John Birch, July 27th, 2023

3 minute read

Try Audio

Canada U23s win first “Border Battle”

Canada emerged winners of the first Canada-USA U-23 international for seven years, avenging their defeat at U20 level a two weeks ago.

Two players who made their senior national team debut earlier this month in Ottawa combined for Canada’s first try. Mya Brubacher offloaded the ball to Claire Gallagher, who touched it down between the uprights in the 17th minute. Gallagher, who is captaining the team in Massachusetts, converted the try to give Canada a 7-0 lead.

Savannah Bauder scored twice within five minutes to further Canada’s lead to 17-0, which the team carried into half-time. Neither team was able to score for much of the second half, with significant defensive plays made at both ends of the pitch. Rachel Smith broke the stalemate in the 65th minute, with Gallagher kicking another clean conversion to make the score 24-0.

The United States scored in the final minute of play to put the final score at 24-5.

The second and final match takes place on Sunday.

USA U23:1. Alivia Leatherman; 2. Queenette Toomalatai; 3. Keia Mae Sagapolu (C); 4. Mona Tupou; 5. Malia Isaacs; 6. Freda Tafuna; 7. Tessa Hann; 8. Kapoina Bailey (VC); 9. Taina Tukuafu; 10. Kristin Bitter; 11. Susan Adegoke; 12. Eti Haungatau; 13. Leila Opeti; 14. Sereana Vulaono; 15. Alex Wantlin16. Lauren Ferridge; 17. Reece Woods; 18. Olivia Woods; 19. Mikaela Hall; 20. Anna Van Dyk; 21. Lewanda Aspinall; 22. Autumn LoCicero; 23. Matalasi Morrissette; 24. Tiahna Padilla; 25. Alyssa Cunningham;

Canada U23:1. Zoe Williams (Victoria, BC) ; 2. Jordan McLeod (Rivers, MB) ; 3. Mya Brubacher (West Montrose, ON) ; 4. Grace Anderson (Montreal, QC) ; 5. Julia Omokhuale (Calgary, AB) ; 6. Rachel Smith (South Surrey, BC) ; 7. Lizzie Gibson (Caledon, ON) ; 8. Tylo Borsboom (Winnipeg, MB) ; 9. Corinne Fréchette (Saint-Zéphirin-de-Courval, QC) ; 10. Claire Gallagher (Caledon, ON) ; 11. Carmen Izyk (High River, AB) ; 12. Maggie Banks (Coquitlam, BC) ; 13. Maggie MacKinnon (Sooke, BC) ; 14. Maelle Reed (Victoria, BC) ; 15. Savannah Bauder (North Vancouver, BC)16. Madison Jumeau (Victoria, BC) ; 17. Cécile Leclerc (Québec, QC) ; 18. Rori Wood (Sooke, BC) ; 19. Cécile Leclerc (Québec, QC) ; 20. Emily Clark (Mississauga, ON) ; 21. Siobhan Sheerin (Toronto, ON) ; 22. Maddy Kushner (Ottawa, ON) ; 23. Kendra Cousineau (Port Colborne, ON) ; 24. Laura Guay (Québec, QC) ; 25. Natalie Armatage (Waterloo, ON) ;